Documenting a virtualization project

Experiences in Virtualization

Virtualizing a domain controller

Posted by martijnl on January 4, 2007

The topic seems hot on the VMWare forums. One of the better posts I found in the Strategy & Planning section (forum post, this post started because of this post). That got me thinking about a DC that we put online just before Christmas and we found out that it wasn’t functioning properly.

We were able to fix the problem (the NTP Client on the ESX Server wasn’t running and because of that the DC wasn’t getting the right timing from our NTP server) and everything is running fine now. So in the end: if you put the DC in “Server mode” in stead of “Client mode” (which is the same as flipped the registry key mentioned in the first forum thread) and make sure your NTP Client is running on the ESX server than there is nothing to prevent you from not virtualizing your DC’s.

We are taking it slowly though. Our dedicated Exchange Global Catalog will remain a physical box for the time being and we will probably let the Primary Domain Controller be a physical box. (edit 04/01/07 – 17:17 — in this case I don’t mean the PDC as in the NT4 terminology, just to keep one main DC in physical form)

In my search for additional information I found some links that might be interesting:

5 Responses to “Virtualizing a domain controller”

  1. Lars said

    Please have a look at this document:
    http://mylearn.vmware.com/courseware/14146/tac9710.pdf

    Have been using this solution for my domain controllers and it works very well.

  2. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.

    I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already😉 Cheers!

  3. dgn2200 manual netgear wgt624 said

    I do believe all of the ideas you’ve offered for your post.
    They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are
    very short for novices. May just you please lengthen them a bit from next
    time? Thanks for the post.

  4. Awesome blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a
    free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused ..

    Any recommendations? Many thanks!

  5. There is definately a lot to know about this subject.
    I like all the points you’ve made.

Leave a Reply

 
