Failed to deploy template: The virtual disk is either corrupted or not a supported format

Ran into this error when I was at a customer site and found that there is not a lot of information available online. The first post that I found describing the error was on VM/ETC. Have not found a definitive solution yet as I first suspected something had gone wrong with a snapshot on the particular template I was using. Built a new template and did not run into the error for a couple of days.

Then I found these posts (post 1, post 2) on the VMware Forums and have tried the workaround mentioned in this comment as the template and the VM’s to be generated from this template were located on the same LUN.

The error has not turned up since but it stayed away for a couple of days last time.

4 thoughts on “Failed to deploy template: The virtual disk is either corrupted or not a supported format

  1. Pingback: Failed to deploy template (follow-up) « Documenting a virtualization project

  2. bit.ly

    What’s Happening i’m neww to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absoluutely helpful and it has aided
    me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & assist different users liike its aikded
    me. Good job.

  3. goo

    I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your information. This article has really peaked mmy
    interest.I will take a note of your site and
    keep checking ffor new details about once per week. I subscribed to your
    RSS feed as well.

Comments are closed.